The End of Chapter 2016

I don’t feel “nostalgic” for 2016, I’m glad it’s almost behind me, but I have spent a good part of this week thinking through it.

It’s an odd time of year isn’t it?  We’re getting ready to, in theory, put the old behind and look forward to the new.  It’s like ending a chapter in a book.  I don’t feel “nostalgic” for 2016, I’m glad it’s almost behind me, but I have spent a good part of this week thinking through it.

Much like any other year there were highs and lows.  The highlights, for me, were our travels.  We were able to go to Florida at the end of January, Maine in late spring, to the Midwest to visit my family during the summer, another long weekend in Maine this past fall and then Pennsylvania over Thanksgiving.  We also had two visits from David’s youngest daughter, Jila.  I became an aunt (again) in early December which always makes me smile.

The lows…mostly all work-related.  Our office lost a small fortune when our billers decided they didn’t want to do the work required.  We didn’t catch on to what was happening for a few months and when we finally did we had to really scramble or close our doors after 40+ years.  Since my husband is an optometrist and the billing was medical we weren’t able to recoup all of it.  In medical billing you have timelines and if you don’t get your claims in by a certain time after the exams your claims are rejected and you aren’t paid.  It took us a few months to discover because even when a claim is filed on time we may not be paid until 45 days later so the finances are always kind of precarious and we’re used to that.  I had to learn medical billing in about two weeks!  It was a scary year for us as we struggled to catch up financially, we’re still struggling but at least now we can see a light at the end of the tunnel.

2016 was intense.

secret2change

January 1, 2017 we move on to the next chapter and we’re hopeful.

Leave a comment